101 Days, 101 Strangers, 101 Stories: Day 65

This evening, I went to the Naam for dinner with a friend of mine. Towards the end of our meal, I remembered that I hadn’t yet met my stranger of the day. I brainstormed aloud about what I would do and who I might meet, thinking I might be able to chat with one of the waiters while conscious that they would be busy and working.

When one of the waiters walked toward our table, my friend looked right at him and said loudly, “now’s your chance!” I wonder what the waiter was thinking would happen next. I’m positive he wasn’t correct.

‘Will you be my stranger of the day?” I asked.

“Yes, but what does that mean”, he asked me back.

I proceeded to give him a 10-second elevator pitch and he said was willing to share his story.

“I host a meditation group in my house”, he said, before walking away abruptly to continue with his work. I was amazed and confused at the same time.

Whenever he would pass our table, he would share a five second fact about himself.

photo 2 (3)

“I studied business”, he said the next time he came around. It was an entertaining way to learn someone’s story. It was a lot of fun and I was blown away by his willingness.

“I used to work in the stock market”, he said the next time.

The next time he stopped by, I asked him what his name was. “Marshall”, he said.

When Marshall came by again, I asked him if his meditation sessions were open to the public. He said yes. And then, of course, I asked him if I could stop by and partake sometime. He said sure, and gave me the address along with his number in case I had any questions.

I’ll be going to his place for a meditation session on Monday morning and I can’t wait! In-home group meditation sessions… what a fascinating yet simple idea. I can’t wait to check it out for myself and I’m blown away by how open and welcoming he is.

One thought on “101 Days, 101 Strangers, 101 Stories: Day 65

Leave a Reply

