101 Days, 101 Strangers, 101 Stories: Day 62

Today, I met Ellen – my future flatmate – for the first time. Starting tomorrow we will be living together. We met today to get the keys to our new place and to meet each other.

There will be three of us living together, the third of which is a good mutual friend of ours, which is how we learned about each other in the first place. The three of us will be living together in a garden suite one block away from the ocean.

When I met her, I was intrigued by the way she speaks – eloquently with a unique tone and melodic quality to her voice. Her voice is poetic and I feel like she would be an amazing slam poet.

She’s in her fifth year of university, studying international relations with a minor in environment and society.

She works a couple of jobs while studying full-time. She’s a barista at Starbucks and a waitress at a fancy cheesecake restaurant downtown. Basically, she’s going to be the best flatmate: free coffee AND free cheesecake. Oh my goodness. She also loves cooking. Hallelujah.

photo (12)
Ellen’s mountainous tea collection i.e. flatmate prerequisite

Ellen believes that good food, a hot shower, and freshly cleaned sheets can solve 50% of everyone’s problems. Her wardrobe is filled with thrifted treasures and she has a tea collection that is miles out of this world.

Even though I’ve barely gotten to know her yet, I can tell that Ellen is hilarious and bold, openhearted and generous. She’s a lover of snail mail and a hot cup of earl grey tea. I’m really excited to get to know her over these next few months and I think it’ll be a real privilege to be living with her.

Leave a comment