101 Days, 101 Strangers, 101 Stories: Day 35

Today as I was walking down to the beach alone, a woman approached me asking for directions. I explained which way to go but eventually decided to just walk with her and show her the way. I told her about my project and she was happy to share her story with me.

Her name is Raquel. She’s from Toronto but has made her way slowly westward across Canada. “I wanted to be an actor”, she told me. “And I figured Vancouver would be the best place for that.” But she recently realized that acting isn’t really her thing after all. Now, she’s a writer. She mainly writes screen plays.

DSC_0211 2

“But that’s not a good story. That’s boring! Let me think of a good story for you”, she said, a little frustrated with her memory.

“Well”, she continued abruptly after pausing to think for a while. “I’m here right now actually because I just got stood up.” She was supposed to meet a guy she had met on Tinder down at the beach but he never showed up. She waited for two hours. This is the fourth time he’s done this. They had connected so well that she wanted to give him another chance. “I know it sounds silly but our connection… it was almost cosmic”, she told me.

Raquel’s on Tinder to meet new people. Her profile says something along the lines of “Not looking for a boyfriend. Not looking to f**k. Just looking for good conversations, maybe even on the phone *gasp*.” She’s genuinely interested in getting to know people. 

She feels like it’s really difficult to meet real, authentic people these days — especially in Vancouver. “People here are so into games”, she said. “If you’re interested in someone, you’re supposed to act uninterested? What’s that all about? If I’m interested in someone, I tell them. If you put your real self out there, what do you really have to lose? Nothing.”

And she doesn’t understand why people take pictures of themselves showing off their bodies. It doesn’t tell you anything about who they are inside as a person. Her profile just has pictures of the things she likes — the beach, a dog, some quotes, a picture of her eye.

She’s found that people are so surprised by her authenticity. It’s so new to them. We’re all real on the inside, so why not let our authenticity shine through? 

In any case, I think she’s going to be a great writer. She had a great sense of humour and an openness about her that will lead her inevitably to do great things. 

One thought on “101 Days, 101 Strangers, 101 Stories: Day 35

  1. I know Raquel, although briefly, all I can say is that she will do great things. It’s her genuine love for life and what it has to offer that will propel her. There is nothing earthly about her, for a lack of a better word, she is “cosmic”.

Leave a Reply

