101 Days, 101 Strangers, 101 Stories: Day 12

This morning started off with a full moon-lit swim in the cool Pacific Ocean, followed by a charming little guitar jam session in the sun-speckled, but-otherwise-shady grass.

Soon after that, I met Nafis in an elevator. He had just finished a workout and was indulging in some self-deprecating humour about his fitness levels. He is my stranger of the day.

He’s a PhD accounting student at UBC. I asked him if he enjoys it and he said “well, I don’t hate it.”

He explained that he used to work in an investment banking role but then decided to go back to school to learn more about new, alternative investment methods.

He asked me what I was studying. When I told him I’m studying philosophy (and economics) he said “you must be enlightened.” I chuckled and then explained why I’m studying what I’m studying and that I’m passionate about tackling climate change. He told me that he, too, probably cared about these things when he was my age but that I was naive. I proceeded to argue vociferously.

During his undergraduate years he studied a little bit of existential philosophy. “My favourite guys are Nietzsche and Kierkegaard”, he said.

He was very willing to be my stranger of the day. When I asked for a photo, though, he said that it would be “too much publicity” for him. Fair enough.

Then he had to run off to class.

3 thoughts on “101 Days, 101 Strangers, 101 Stories: Day 12

  1. Alan Chen says:

    Haha, did all of this happen during the length of your elevator ride? You’re so brave to engage someone in what can sometimes be an uncomfortably intimate space.

    1. Hey Alan. Thank you! The conversation started in the elevator but it continued afterward, as we were walking in the same direction. Thanks for following along with me on these adventures! 🙂

  2. […] 101 Days, 101 Strangers – Aliya is a wonderful writer and an inspiration. In her blog, she goes on a journey to meet a random stranger every day for 101 days and to feature them in a blog post. I had the privilege of being featured on her blog recently. […]

Leave a Reply

