101 Days, 101 Strangers, 101 Stories: Day 3

Tonight, I was planning to meet a stranger in my evening economics class. Then class was cancelled. Panicking, as the day was almost over, I ended up following a girl into the laundry room and accidentally frightened her when I said hello.

I apologized and then told her about my project. She was a little hesitant at first. But then she told me her name is Wendy and that she was happy to help.

She shed light on how important it is to be passionate about what it is that you do. “If you don’t love it”, she said, “then you won’t be able to excel, and you won’t enjoy it as much.” You should do what you love and let what drives you compel you. She’s studying marketing and international business. She’s unsure if it’s her passion but is working towards learning what it is that she loves. What she does love about marketing is its creative side. She likes to embrace creativity whenever possible. 

She told me that she really enjoys photography and that we should take some photos together sometime. Who knew it would be so soon:

photo 3-4

What started in fear ended in smiles. When I said goodbye she reached out and gave me a warm hug. Each day I’m learning more and more about the power of conversation, openness, and the kindness in which humanity is drenched from edge to edge. 

 

2 thoughts on “101 Days, 101 Strangers, 101 Stories: Day 3

Leave a Reply

